Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Work: Holding something up

1. Apr 27, 2006 #1

Pengwuino

Gold Member

Something i've always wondered is why does it feel like work is being done when you're just holding something up. According to the definition of work, 0 work is being done if no displacement occurs... but no one can say with a straight face that you aren't doing some form of work somewhere when you hold a 100lb bag up or something. Maybe this is a biology question but where exactly is energy being consumed/used when a human being holds something up in the same position? Or is it even possibly just a mental trick that it feels like some work is being done (maybe its just neurological signals)?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 27, 2006 #2

eep

I'm no expert but here's my guess. In order to keep the object from falling you have to exert an upwards force to counteract gravity. Our muscles have to tense in order for this to happen. This is a biological process which uses energy, but I'm not quite sure what the process is.

4. Apr 27, 2006 #3
    Ya im not 100% sure what the best answer to that would be but i would say its got more to do with the definition of work. Theres 0 work done on the bag because it dosent move. But you arm is definitly using energy (ATP and all that chemical energy in the body). And if you think about it your arm is creating the normal force, so basicaly your applying as much force as a table would on the bag. Im not sure if that realy answered the question at all but it was worth a try.

5. Apr 27, 2006 #4

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

When you're holding something up (stationary), your muscle cells are alternately contracting and relaxing and moving back and forth. So they're indivdiually doing work, but they're fighting each other so the work probably gets dissipated as heat.

For details, you'll have to ask a biomechanics or biophysics expert.