1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Work in aerospace without aero/mech degree?

1. Apr 8, 2014 #1
    Hello, I am newly registered to this site but have lurked around for a few years looking for homework help and to satisfy random curiousities, but have recently come upon some unsettling news. I am currently a sophomore in college who was planning on getting a degree in Aerospace engineering but unfortunately my GPA was not high enough to enter the major (which would happen during junior year as most 'engineering' (my school refers to it as pre-engineering, not sure how it works at other universities) undergrads go through a relatively similar first two years of courses. Since I was not admitted into this major I was a candidate for my second choice of major which was nuclear engineering. This still doesn't change the fact that my real interest lies in space and the matter in which we travel through it, and I hope that there is still a possibility that I can one day work in the astronautical field, please advise me on a path I can take whether it does/does not involve grad school and whatever may give me a better chance of working in something as close to astronautics as possible. thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 8, 2014 #2
    When you say Aerospace engineering, what really enamors you about it? Designing rockets? Designing spacecraft systems? Designing communication systems? Aerodynamics?