1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Working as an RA before grad school

1. Jul 26, 2012 #1
    Hi,

I am currently an undergrad. Now, I have some student loans to pay off and I also don't feel like going to grad school right after my undergrad. I thought it would be a good idea to work as a research assistant in my physics department after I graduate.

During these RA years, if I do some good research that ends up being published (hopefully), will it help with grad school applications? Or is it of no real advantage since I techincally will have done it after my undergrad?

Thank you for your replies.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 26, 2012 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Do you have the job lined up? "Hello, please hire me as an RA instead of taking on a student of your own" may not get the best results.

4. Jul 26, 2012 #3
    My school usually hires some graduating students as RAs. At least for the past three years, I know quite a few people who have graduated and stayed on as RAs or TAs (some of those also work on research). Perhaps things are different here because this is not an American university?

So, I'm not 100% certain but it's a very good chance.

5. Jul 26, 2012 #4
    A couple of thoughts. Publishing creditable work is never a negative and should be somewhat helpful in job shopping, if relevant to the job. Getting an RA/TA position and going to graduate school are not mutually exclusive. I had a TA position in college and an RA position in graduate school. IMO, suck it up for a little longer and stay in school, and try for an RA or TA position. In every case I know of, the RA or TA got you a little money and "in state" status for tuition. Since I always went to school “out of state” the savings was huge!