Working out KWh if you have KVArh and PF

• Thread starter Benjaminfross
  • Start date
In summary: I don't pay the bills, so I don't know the details.The minimum PF, sustained for 30 minutes ( within a quarter ) is measured. Then a billing factor as for the kWh's ( within that quarter ) is found in a look-up table.Something like that. I don't pay the bills, so I don't know the details.In summary, the conversation discusses a cost-sharing agreement between two companies for improving power factor (PF) in order to reduce electricity consumption. The equation for PF is explained and the discussion revolves around calculating kWh using PF and KVArh. However, it is clarified that improving PF does not directly reduce kWh, but only reduces KVArh. The conversation also mentions voltage optimization as a potential
Benjaminfross
Hello,

Complete novice here. About to enter into a cost sharing agreement with another company, part of the cost sharing is improving the PF.

I've understood the equation for PF = KWh/sq(KWh2 + KVArh2)

They only benefit from PF improvement and not any other savings in reducing electricity consumption that we might do.

My thinking is record what PF is today - then after a period see what new PF is (get this on bill) work it back using the new reactive power (KVArh) and see what the Kwh would have been compared with what it is now - then stick a Price per KWh and split the saving?

I've forgotten my Maths GSCE - struggling to rework the formula.

say PF is 0.9 and KVArh is 2772 what's KWh?

Appreciate any help.
Thanks
Ben

Engineering news on Phys.org
Benjaminfross said:
say PF is 0.9 and KVArh is 2772 what's KWh?
PF = kW / √(kW2 + kVAr2 ) →

PF*√(kW2 + kVAr2 ) = kW →

PF2*(kW2 + kVAr2 ) = kW2

. . . . . Some work for you . . . . .

kW = kVAr / √( ( 1 - PF2) / PF2 )

Remember "k" for "kilo". "K" means something like "Kelvin".

Last edited:
Welcome to PF!