Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Working out KWh if you have KVArh and PF

1. Nov 18, 2015 #1
    Hello,

Complete novice here. About to enter into a cost sharing agreement with another company, part of the cost sharing is improving the PF.

I've understood the equation for PF = KWh/sq(KWh2 + KVArh2)

They only benefit from PF improvement and not any other savings in reducing electricity consumption that we might do.

My thinking is record what PF is today - then after a period see what new PF is (get this on bill) work it back using the new reactive power (KVArh) and see what the Kwh would have been compared with what it is now - then stick a Price per KWh and split the saving?

I've forgotten my Maths GSCE - struggling to rework the formula.

say PF is 0.9 and KVArh is 2772 whats KWh?

Appreciate any help.
    Thanks
    Ben

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 18, 2015 #2

Hesch

Gold Member

PF = kW / √(kW2 + kVAr2 ) →

PF*√(kW2 + kVAr2 ) = kW →

PF2*(kW2 + kVAr2 ) = kW2

. . . . . Some work for you . . . . .

kW = kVAr / √( ( 1 - PF2) / PF2 )

Remember "k" for "kilo". "K" means something like "Kelvin".

Last edited: Nov 18, 2015
  4. Nov 18, 2015 #3

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to PF!

What you are describing doesn't match my experience with utility power factor issues. Not sure if you have a different issue from what I've seen or if you have something wrong in your understanding, but I'll explain what I've seen and you can tell me if it seems right:

Utilities measure kW and kWh directly, so there is no bill correction needing to be done from before/after pf correction, because the kW and kWh haven't changed (aside from very minor efficiency improvements). Power factor is penalized directly on the bill and should be stated explicitly: For example, for a 70% pf under an 80% requirement, measured demand = 100 kW, billed demand = 100*(.8/.7)= 114 kW.