1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Worth taking higher level physics classes?

1. Oct 6, 2008 #1
    Hi guys, I am a sophomore in college right now intending to major in physics. The thing though is that I am fairly certain that I want to go to medical school and thus am just pursuing the major for my own intellectual curiosity. I am taking junior level mechanics and electrodynamics courses this year and then will probably take quantum mechanics my junior year. These courses are all classified as 3000 level courses and to get my major I also have to complete several 4000 level courses.

Now my question is, is it really worth taking these higher level 4000 level courses (statistical mechanics, thermodynamics, solid state physics, etc.) for intellectual curiosity purposes. This may seem like a weird question, but I have heard that many upper level classes are more about solving complicated tedious math problems. Also another concern is that they could possibly lower my gpa. In your experience are higher level classes extremely difficult and competitive or do most people at that level feel comfortable with the material and do fairly well?

I have done a decent amount of undergrad physics research, and while I find it very interesting and will continue to do it while in college, I cannot make a career out of it. That being said which classes beyond 3000 level quantum mechanics do you suggest I take merely for intellectual curiosity sake that won't be too detrimental to my gpa.

Thanks for your help.
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 6, 2008 #2
    I think your concerns about upper division physics classes are all well-founded, tedious math problems, difficult and competitive classes, and lower GPAs all do occur.