Would a manufacturing/industrial engineering internship benefit me?

In summary: This sounds like a pretty good overview of what a mechanical engineer does on the job. Probably the most important skill would be dimensional accuracy, as it can be difficult to measure or build something if it's not sized correctly.
jklops686
Hi,

I am a sophomore mechanical engineering student looking for an internship to get some real life experience. I applied to an aerospace company which makes hybrid electric motors for a manufacturing/industrial engineering internship and have an interview. This seems like the type of company I'd enjoy working at in the future but I'm wondering how ideal this industrial engineering internship would be compared to my major focus, mechanical engineering. Would it help my skills in the future or should I take a ME internship if I can?

These are the responsibilities listed:
-Prepare detailed, step-by-step work instructions for the production and testing of all HEV and Aftermarket products. This involves becoming hands-on familiar with the product and following a defined format.

-Update Cell safety information boards.

-Conduct and document time studies of the various operations in the production cells.

-Assist with the implementation of 6S and Visual Factory projects.

-Assist in the layout and execution of product line layouts.

-Create a searchable database to manage deviations from the customer.

-Assist in creating standard work on the production floor.

-Assist in creating a database for assembly part traceability.

Any thoughts? Thanks:smile:

Engineering news on Phys.org
Yes, in my opinion, you would benefit greatly by participating in the above internship. You will work side-by-side with engineers on real problems. It can (would) be a terrific opportunity to supplement all your classroom and lab learning. I have seen young juniors and seniors come to our company on summer internships. They all gained. I encourage you to go and do it!