1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Would it be stupid to switch to engineering at this point?

1. Feb 26, 2008 #1
    I'm currently a 3rd year student majoring in physics and will probably end up with a minor in math. I'm having a major crisis tryin to decide what to do with my life.

I'm currently taking upper-div mechanics, but the class is pretty boring. I'm thinking about leaving physics also because theres so few job opportunities available. But, I think it would be stupid to switch at this point since I already applied to 13 REU programs for physics. It would be a total waste if I didnt continue with physics as I put a TON of effort into those applications.

I could continue and complete my math degree but none of the jobs you can get with it sound interesting: actuary, computer programmer, finance, etc

So I was thinking of switching to mechanical engineering. But I'm not that into building machinery, but it sounds the best among all the engineering fields. But it would take 3 more years to finish it (unless I take like 5 classes per quarter), whereas math and physics would only take 2 more.
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 26, 2008 #2
    Your REUs are all going to reject you if you change majors?

Take some upper-div lab courses and tell me if you're still bored. It may just be that you're destined for experimentalism not theory...
  4. Feb 27, 2008 #3