Would like some advice on graduate programs

In summary, this person is undecided about what they want to do with their career and is seeking advice. They are considering going to graduate school to study mathematics and statistics with the hope of finding a career in those areas. They feel that with a bachelors in math and teaching themselves more languages there is no need for a masters in CS. They are interested in computer science, but feel that a masters in math and statistics would give them more options.
trickslapper
Hi guys, this is my first time posting on this forum. My question is about choosing a graduate program to study.

I'm a double math and CS major and to be quite honest and I'm not 100% sure on what i would like in a career. What i do know is that i have 0% interest in being a professor or working in academia. Outside of that I'm not so sure. I think i would be a great software engineer/financial analyst/statistician/other jobs in mathematics or CS.

I feel that with a bachelors in CS and teaching myself more languages there is no real need for a masters in CS(i don't know if this is true it is just how i feel personally). However, with a bachelors in math i doubt that i can get any decent jobs and, therefore I'm leaning towards earning a Masters in mathematical sciences with a concentration in statistics and i would pepper some graduate CS classes such as: Data structures, analysis of algorithms, and data mining.

I feel that in this way i can still keep CS in my academic life and have the potential to start careers from CS, Math/Stats, or even a hybrid career.

What do you guys think? would love to hear all kinds of different opinions.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
anyone? I could really use some advice.

Just a suggestion from a soon-to-be master of science. I'm not an academic adviser: