1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Would Sun Java Certification significantly help my grad school prospects?

1. Jan 3, 2009 #1
    I'm a physics student in the penultimate year of my degree. I'm quite good at programming and was thinking this summer I'd put in 3 months of effort and get Sun Java Certification.

Would this be worth the effort? Would it be something which would be very attractive to a prospective grad school or just get ignored?
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 4, 2009 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2015 Award

Physics grad school? I don't think it would make much difference one way or another.
  4. Jan 4, 2009 #3
    OK, I thought maybe having professional certification in a common programming language would be useful as programming is such an important skill to many branches of physics. However you say it doesn't make much difference to a potential supervisor?

Would you say being good at programming is likely to help me very much at all?
  5. Jan 4, 2009 #4

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Programming skills are certainly an asset in many branches of physics. They can't hurt your grad school application. But if the choice is between getting this java certification and gaining research experience working in a lab - I think the research experience is far more valuable. I believe the common attitude with regards to programming is that it's a skill that can be picked up as needed.
  6. Jan 4, 2009 #5
    What is a good way to pick up research experience in a lab? My degree has the usual amount of research experience in terms of projects, but do people do other stuff also?
  7. Jan 4, 2009 #6