Writing a PhD research proposal: AdS/CFT

In summary, the conversation is about a student who is unsure about how to write a research proposal for their PhD application in theoretical physics. They mention their interest in using geometrical applications in quantum field theory and their background in string theory, supersymmetry, and advanced relativity. They also ask for suggestions on literature related to anti-de Sitter/conformal field theory and its connection to M2-branes. The other person in the conversation advises them to clarify if a research proposal is actually required and suggests contacting the admissions tutor for clarification. They also mention that a first-year PhD student is not expected to have a detailed research proposal and offer to help the student in any way they can.
as3906
I am trying to write a research proposal and hav no idea where to start
I'm doing a Masters in Theoretical Physics and want to do a PhD involving such Geometrical Applications to QFT.
But the last sentence, besides personal background and a relatively naive version of why I'm interested is all I have. Any suggestions at all? Do I read a few journals and come up with suggestions, tho I have only started my String Theory/Supersymmetry/Advanced Relativity Courses this term, so the journals are doubly hard to follow---eep! help!

Physics news on Phys.org
In which country?
I've never heard of student having to write a proposal before, this is usually done by the thesis advisor or whoever is managing the project.

Thanks for the reply!
In england-I'm writing to Dr James Sparks at Oxford, and that's pretty much the response I've gotten from most people---but it's distinctly stated that a research proposal is required :S

I'm new to Physics Forums, and so you may have already got this:
Thanks for the reply!
In England, I'm applying to Dr James Sparks at Oxford, and indeed that has been the reponse I've gotten from so many.