Italian Student Seeking Advice on Quantum Optics Thesis

In summary, quantum optics is a branch of physics that focuses on the interaction between light and matter at the quantum level. If your thesis is on this topic, you will be conducting research on fundamental principles and experimental techniques in quantum optics, such as photon entanglement and quantum computing. To successfully complete a thesis in this field, you will need a strong background in physics, particularly in quantum mechanics and electromagnetism, as well as knowledge of mathematical concepts and experimental techniques. Some potential research topics for a thesis in quantum optics include studying single photon sources, investigating quantum interference effects, and exploring the use of quantum entanglement for secure communication. Quantum optics is a rapidly evolving field with many recent developments such as quantum networks, quantum sensors, and
La_Simo
Hi!
I'm an Italian student. I I would like to became an experimental quantum optics. In particular I'm interested in Bose-Einstein condensate.
I must decide where do my thesis. Can sameone help me?
Thank you so much.

Physics news on Phys.org
Check this guy out. He was my quantum professor and is a great guy.

http://physics.ncsu.edu/people/faculty_thomas.html

Last edited by a moderator:

1. What is quantum optics?

Quantum optics is a branch of physics that studies the interaction between light and matter at the quantum level. It involves the use of quantum mechanics and electromagnetic theory to understand and manipulate the behavior of photons and other particles of light.

2. How does quantum optics relate to my thesis?

If your thesis is on quantum optics, it means that you will be conducting research on the fundamental principles and experimental techniques in this field. This may include topics such as photon entanglement, quantum computing, or quantum teleportation.