Steepest Descent with constraints

• Thread starter matts0611
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Constraints
In summary, the person is working on a project that requires them to use steepest descent to solve a problem, but they do not know how to calculate the partial derivatives of the function by hand. They are wondering if there is a way to modify steepest descent to work with constraints and if estimating the derivatives by taking the difference of two points close together is an acceptable method. They are also unsure of how to find the best step size when using steepest descent. They are seeking guidance and advice from someone more knowledgeable in this area.
matts0611
Hi, I am working on a project for my research and am need of some advice.
My background is in computer engineering / programming so I'm in need of some help from some math people :)

I need to use steepest descent to solve a problem, a function that needs to be minimized.

The function has 5 variables that each have a constant range, min1 < X1 < max1 etc

I am writing this program in C.

The function that needs to be minimized is complex enough that I do not know how to calculate the partial derivatives by hand.Some questions.

1. As far as I understand steepest descent (or gradient search) works without constraints. However, my variables do have constraints. Is there a way to modify steepest descent that works with constraints?

I have used the MS Excel solver to solve my problem and it solves it pretty fast (less than one second). From what I understand Excel uses something called Generalized Reduced Gradient method. Which from what I understand is based off Steepest Descent but can be used on problems with constraints. I have found some information on this algorithm but it seems so complex. Do i need to use this algorithm or can I get away with using something simpler since the constrains in my problem are simple?