Exploring the Intricacies of dxdy=-dydx

• Thread starter wdlang
  • Start date
In summary, the dxdy = -dydx notation is used in exterior differential forms because it naturally introduces minus signs and captures orientation, which is important in various mathematical constructions. It is different from the notation used in integrals, where dx dy is just a dummy symbol indicating integration with respect to x and y.
wdlang
why we postulate dxdy=-dydx

not dxdy=dydx?

i am now studying exterior differential forms and i always feel that i cannot appreciate the germ of the theory

Physics news on Phys.org
Because it naturally introduces minus signs in places where you would otherwise need to specify them explicitly.

The most important operation on differential forms is exterior differentiation, denoted d. With the minus signs occurring naturally, you get the nice property that d(d(differential form)) = 0 for all differential forms. That has all sorts of nice algebraic consequences, and you can use algebraic techniques to extract topological information from your analytical objects.

dx^dy = - dy^dx captures orientation. Minus signs for orientations show up all over the place: Changing the order of two columns of a square matrix changes the sign of its determinant. Changing the order of two vectors in a cross product changes the sign of the resulting vector. The definition of curvature relies on orientation, as do various constructions in topology.

wdlang said:
why we postulate dxdy=-dydx

not dxdy=dydx?

i am now studying exterior differential forms and i always feel that i cannot appreciate the germ of the theory

ok I didn't undertstand answers to this good question

The dx dy notation is a shorthand notation for dx ^ dy. Given a tensor product [itex]dx \otimes dy[/itex], the anti-symmetrized product is

[tex]dx \wedge dy \equiv dx \otimes dy - dy \otimes dx[/tex]
which is clearly antisymmetric under interchanging x and y.