Is the AP1000's PCCS a Cause for Concern?

• Thread starter nismaratwork
  • Start date
In summary, Gunderson's report indicates that the AP1000 is very safe. The concern seems to be around corrosion of the steel shielding, but I don't think this is likely. The valves are another means of scramming the reactor in the event of an earthquake.
nismaratwork
Hello, my mother recently sent me a very mediocre article showing concerns regarding the Westinghouse AP1000 PWR with PCCS. The thrust of the concern seemed to be the possibility that the steel shielding could corrode, or be otherwise compromised by an earthquake, leading to a radioactive release a la the chimney effect. I am not a nuclear engineer, but it didn't seem likely to me, given the proposed construction. I did say that I would ask some people who are nuclear engineers, and I would guess there are a few here. To me, the massive reduction in moving parts, and the explosive locks seem to be enhancing safety. I assume this reactor can be SCRAMed like any other as well. Am I missing something, or is this the usual anti-nuclear hysteria?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Explosive locks?

Reactors are designed to scram at level below a design basis earthquake.

Reactors are enclosed in a containment of reinforced concrete, which has a steel liner. The objective in passive cooling is to have a reservoir of cooling water that does not have to be forced by pumps.

I believe that article's premise is faulty.

Astronuc said:
Explosive locks?

Reactors are designed to scram at level below a design basis earthquake.

Reactors are enclosed in a containment of reinforced concrete, which has a steel liner. The objective in passive cooling is to have a reservoir of cooling water that does not have to be forced by pumps.

I believe that article's premise is faulty.

Excellent, that is what I was hoping to hear. Thanks very much.