Conservation of Energy Tutor | Physics Problem | x162,x163

In summary, the conversation discusses a problem in a high school physics textbook where the conservation of mechanical energy is applied to a spring-mass system. The solution provided in the textbook is questioned by the participants, who believe that the spring constant may be incorrect. It is also noted that the problem is not a conservation problem, but rather aims to teach students how to calculate elastic potential energy. The participants also discuss the effects of dissipative forces and the theoretical behavior of the system if no friction is present.
ham
I am a tutor. I ran across this problem is a high school physics textbook. See attachment x162, my solution is on x163. I thought that mechancical energy is conserved and that loss of potential energy should be equal to gain in elastic (stored) energy. Ithink the spring constant must be wrong?

Attachments

• x162.jpg
    x162.jpg
    18.6 KB · Views: 453
  • x163.jpg
    x163.jpg
    21.8 KB · Views: 457
Physics news on Phys.org
Note the phrase "allowed to come to rest". If the weight were just dropped, there would be both spring PE and kinetic energy. That extra kinetic has been dissipated somehow. (The mass may have been lowered gently to the equilibrium position, or just allowed to oscillate until the kinetic energy was "lost" to internal friction or air resistance.)

I think that although not specifically said, there is no wind or other resistance here. If the mass were dropped, it would oscillate as the potential energy in the spring would be transferred between kinetic energy and gravitational potential energy. At rest, there would be no kinetic energy so I would think all of the PE would be transwferred to stored elastic energy. I still think the book answer is wrong.

This problem is not a conservation problem. It is just trying to teach the student how to calculate the elastic potential energy.