Jobs that don't require sitting all day

• Thread starter kovrec2
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Jobs
In summary, someone in their early 20s can take on a job as an applications engineer in a semiconductor company, but it may be a bit tough at first and it may not be easy to find a job that fits all of your criteria.
kovrec2
I recently tured 28. I have BSc in Computer Science. Originally I wanted to study Physics. Went for CS thinking it is easier to get a job. I have been programming professionally for about 10 years now. I come from a poor family. So CS was a logical choice for getting good money fast.

I've become very good at way I do. Getting a well paying job is realatively easy. But there is no fun anymore. I remember telling my boss I feel like a machine. He said congratulations - You've become a professional. Maybe I want to remain an amateur.

I view my job as sitting by the computer all day. I feel like a carpenter making cheese all day.

I need a career change. Deep down I am an engineer not a programmer. In the long run I am looking for an engineering job that:

o) Doesn't require sitting all day
o) Ideally makes you spend at least some time outdoors. Or indoors but away from computer
o) I expect to work on the computer but not 100% of time. Ideally 50% or less of time.
o) Ideally requires collaboration/dealing with people
o) Is highly techical
o) Ages well with experience. Something I can do in my 40s.

I think I still have time to go for a MSc or at least BSc in another field. Any pointers?

Physics news on Phys.org
This does not meet all of your criteria, but its a start and might be a fairly easy transition based on your skill set.