Learning Trig on my own I'm stuck and need assitance

• Thread starter mathemagician
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Stuck Trig
We can write the numerator as: \frac{\sec^2\theta}{\sec^2\theta - 2\tan^2\theta} = \frac{1}{1-\frac{2\tan^2\theta}{\sec^2\theta}} Now, what is \inline{\frac{\tan^2\theta}{\sec^2\theta}} ?Remember that \sec^2\theta - \tan^2\theta = 1 (Pythagorean Identity). So: \frac{\tan^2\theta}{\sec^2\theta} = \frac{\sec^2\theta -
mathemagician
Hi everyone. My main goal this week is to learn derivatives of trig functions. But before that I'm still learning some of the trig identities and solving some equations. I'm stuck on a couple of questions that I need help on.
Express [tex] \sec 2 \Theta [/tex] in terms of [tex] \sec \Theta [/tex] and [tex] \tan \Theta [/tex]

2. Express [tex] \csc 2 \Theta [/tex] in terms of [tex] \csc \Theta [/tex] and [tex] \sec \Theta [/tex]

3. Express [tex] \sin 2 \Theta[/tex] and [tex] \cos 2 \Theta [/tex] in terms of [tex] \tan \Theta [/tex]

4. Determine [tex] \sin 2 \Theta [/tex] if [tex] \sin \Theta + \cos \Theta = \frac{1}{2}[/tex]

5. Are there any sample problems on the web about finding an expression of a cone within a sphere and all you are given is the radius of the sphere and the semi-vertical angle of the cone? I have the same question in my book but I can't figure it out. I could write it up here but I can't include the diagram it shows with it.

Thanks for any help.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
1. Are you familiar with the double angle formulas?

[tex] \sin2\theta = 2\sin\theta \cos\theta [/tex]

Rewrite this expression as: [tex] 2\left[\frac{\sin\theta}{\cos\theta} \cos\theta \right]\cos\theta [/tex]

Now you can replace [tex] \inline{\frac{\sin\theta}{\cos\theta}} [/tex] with [tex] \inline{\tan\theta} [/tex] and every [tex] \inline{\cos\theta} [/tex] with [tex] \inline{\frac{1}{\sec\theta}} [/tex]

I think that gives you [tex] \frac{2\tan\theta}{\sec^2\theta} [/tex]