Are ME jobs hard to get in Southern California?

In summary, the conversation centered around the narrator's major in ME and his uncle's suggestion to switch to civil engineering due to difficulty finding a job as an ME. The uncle's tone was condescending and he questioned the narrator's abilities, causing the narrator to question his choice of major. However, other commenters reassured the narrator that he should not let his uncle's comments discourage him and that he should do what makes him happy. They also advised him to do his own research and make sure his program is ABET accredited.
TheDurianFruit
Im currently in my 3rd and final year at a community college and my major is ME. My uncle who is an ME told me that is it very hard to find a job as an ME and is better if i switch to civil engineering. Is this true? His toned seemed condescending the whole conversation and saying that students in high school are already coming up with projects and that I am behind for not having any projects yet and putting me on the spot, asking questions like if i am able to write a C++ program that describes the 3-dimensional movement of a robot arm or something like that. So I asked him wouldn't a program that's similar to CADD be more appropriate and he said no, you can do it with C++

Physics news on Phys.org
You can do that particular task in any number of computer languages, C++ being simply one of the many. This all proves exactly nothing.

Your uncle does not sound like a particularly trustworthy source for job information. I don't know the market in So. Cal., but I suggest that you do your own research into this matter. I'm inclined to think that a community college degree may be a bigger problem than anything else. Most employers are going to be looking for a 4-year ABET accredited degree. You might want to transfer to another school to get that, but without changing majors.

TheDurianFruit said: