Asking for recommendation on Fluid Dynamics and CFD textbooks

In summary, the undergraduate student is looking for suggestions on good fluid dynamics and CFD books for self-study. They have not taken a formal course in fluid dynamics and are interested in physics-oriented books. They have found that most books on the market are engineering-oriented and are seeking recommendations for physics-oriented books. One recommendation is Tritton's book, which is geared towards 3rd or 4th year undergraduate physics students. Another recommendation is Kundu's book, which is more comprehensive. The student is also advised to check their university library for more options. They are also looking for suggestions on CFD books, but the person responding is not knowledgeable on the subject. A recommendation is Pozrikidis's book, "Introduction to theoretical and
Leonfeynman
Dear All

I am an undergraduate student studying in physics. I would probably get into research that needed fluid dynamics and CFD (computational fluid dynamics) skills. Previously I have not been taking a formal fluid dynamics course since there is none. I would like to pick up those skills by choosing some text for self - studying. However, I found that most of the fluid mechanics or fluid dynamics book on the market are engineering oriented. I would like to ask would there be any suggestion on good fluid dynamics book that are physics oriented? Nevertheless, would there be any good suggestion on a good CFD book for self study?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
If you are at a university I recommend looking in your library, since looking at the book first hand is the best way to know if it might work for you. Here are a couple examples:

Tritton's book is pretty good:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/0198544936/?tag=pfamazon01-20
it is geared for a 3rd or 4th year undergraduate physics student.

A more comprehensive (and heavier!) book is by Kundu:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/012405935X/?tag=pfamazon01-20