Assessing Power Rack Max Load: A Scientific Inquiry

In summary, the conversation is discussing the weight limits of power racks, specifically the Titan T-6 and Rogue R-8 models. The person asking the question is skeptical of the stated weight limits and wonders if they are underestimated for liability purposes. They also ask about the load required to buckle the 2x3x1/8 uprights and the impact of a dynamic load. The conversation also touches on marketing tactics and the use of computer simulations and real-life testing to determine weight limits.
JK29
I'm a petroleum engineer, so this is outside of my wheelhouse... I'm also a fairly avid metal worker and fabricator. Also I ask this question out of a curiosity, not because I'm building a rack or basing a financial decision off of the verdict of any resulting calculations.

I feel like the "max weight limit" provided on power racks are bogus and generally on the low end (Specifically from Titan Fitness and Rogue Fitness). Titan states that their T-6 power rack (2''x3''x11gauge with 5/8'' bolted construction) can support ~1000 lbs. Are they pulling these numbers out of their butt? and/or low balling it to cover them with any litigation?

I know I'm simplifying the "problem/math" by assuming a rigid structure with a static load, but I'd like to know the load required to buckle the 2x3x1/8 uprights (putting the load on 2 J-cups 3'' out from the upright). Are there any ballpark equations to figure this out? Also same question for the load being dynamic and impacting the 2 J-cups from a 12'' drop?

I'm assuming the load required to buckle the 2x3x1/8 uprights will be less than the load required to shear the 5/8'' pins on the J-cups... I could be wrong about that too... Also these 2x3x1/8 uprights have a good deal of holes drilled in them.Rack Product Pages:
Titan T-6: https://www.titan.fitness/cages-and-racks/t-6-racks/titan-t-6-series-power-rack-24-x-24.html
Rogue R-8 :http://www.roguefitness.com/r6-power-rack