Ballistics Calculations/Charts

• Thread starter aidenpryde
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ballistics
In summary, the conversation is about the need for accurate stats and calculations for different types of artillery in a game. The developer is looking for an excel sheet that will allow them to input variables and generate fields that break down the velocity of a shell at different ranges. There is also a discussion about the use of quadratic drag as a model for simulations and the possible need for shortcuts and optimization due to the large number of projectiles in the game.
aidenpryde
Hello,

I'm new to these forums but hope to be here awhile to gather information about various aspects of weapon performance. I'll let you know right now I'm not really good at math, which is why I'm looking for a solution, or how to set up a solution, so that I can just input variables and get the proper result.

I am a indie game developer and am currently working on getting the naval side of our game together. In addition to modeling (currently working on the Type 34A German Destroyer) I am also responsible for writing the game design document, which means that I need accurate stats for different types of artillery.

I've been looking around the internet and have been able to find several excel spreadsheets that have the calculations set up in different fields already. But these spreadsheets really only pertain to small arms and not to the larger caliber weapons (such as the 15cm main guns on the Type 34A). Indeed the spreadsheets seem to freak out and break down when I try to input the types of ranges that you would see in game (20km, etc). They also do not display the velocity of the shell as it moves downrange.