Calculating Lie Derivative for Case (ii)

In summary: Consider a function ##f(x)## that is differentiable on an open interval ##I## containing the point ##(a, b)##. The function may be represented by a series expansion in terms of derivatives of various orders.Find the following:1) the first derivative of ##f(x)## at ##(a, b)##2) the second derivative of ##f(x)## at ##(a, b)##3) the third derivative of ##f(x)## at ##(a, b)##The first derivative is ## df/dx = (b-a) \cdot f'(x)##. The second derivative is
Abhishek11235
I am relatively new to differential geometry. I am studying it from Fecko Textbook on differential geometry. As soon as he introduces the concept of lie derivative,he asks to do exercise 4.2.2 in picture. The question is,how do I apply ##\phi^*## to given function ##\psi## . I know that ##\phi^*## transport tensor fields against direction of flow. But how it does,I don't know.

Can anyone help me?

IMG_20190127_160545_484.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_20190127_160545_484.jpeg
    IMG_20190127_160545_484.jpeg
    25.1 KB · Views: 574
Physics news on Phys.org
Abhishek11235 said:
But how it does,I don't know.
What does your book say?

Consider case (i) first. An integral curve of V is Φ(t, x) = t + x because dΦ/dt = 1 and Φ(0, x) = x. What happens to a point x? Its shifted to t + x. What happens to a function ψ(x)?

kent davidge said:
Consider case (i) first. An integral curve of V is Φ(t, x) = t + x because dΦ/dt = 1 and Φ(0, x) = x. What happens to a point x? Its shifted to t + x. What happens to a function ψ(x)?
It becomes ##\phi= e^{-(x+t)^2}##. Is this the answer? Can you give procedure to calculate lie derivative like that for case 2?

Last edited:
Abhishek11235 said:
It becomes ##\phi= e^{-(x+t)^2}##. Is this the answer?