Can an AC Water Well Pump Handle 50Hz Cycles for Use in Africa?

In summary, bob recommends finding a pump that can be replaced with a 220v/50Hz motor. He also suggests checking the pump's compatibility with the motor using the affinity laws.
speedbump
I am new here and I am not really sure where to post this question. I am also not an Engineer, so general language would be appreciated.

I sell Water Well Pumps at my location and on the Internet among other things. Today I had a call from a Man who wanted a Pump that was going to Africa. He needed 170 gallons per minute at 360 feet of head. No problem, a 30 hp motor and the right liquid end will do the job. Problem is, my book had pump curves for motors that are 60 cycle. In Africa I believe they have 50 cycles like most places around the globe. This means my motor which will spin at 3450 rpm's at 60 htz; and will spin somewhere around 2700 rpm's at 50 htz. Now the pump can't do what my curve said it would.

My question: How would you figure out which pump and motor to sell this man with only the 60 cycle pump curve?

Thanks in advance
bob...

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Pump http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/affinity-laws-d_408.html" apply. Using the simple equations found on this web page should provide you enouh information to make pump curves for when the RPM changes.

Last edited by a moderator:
Just find a pump/motor combo that is designed to operate at 220v/50Hz...

Just find a pump/motor combo that is designed to operate at 220v/50Hz...

That's the problem. All the curves I have are at 60 cycles. The manufacturers I buy from don't offer anything in 50 cycles.

speedbump said:
That's the problem. All the curves I have are at 60 cycles. The manufacturers I buy from don't offer anything in 50 cycles.

What about finding a pump which you can replace the motor with a 220v/50Hz one?

Mech_Engineer said:
What about finding a pump which you can replace the motor with a 220v/50Hz one?