Cenco Electrical Device Found help needed identifying

In summary, this device is likely from the early days of electrochemistry, used for various laboratory purposes.
logic3214
Reader,

Forgive me if I break any of forum rules, as I am a newbie posting here. Today, last minute Christmas with my beloved other, I found some sort of vintage electrical device. I understand the basic principles behind what would be happening on the stand with electricity. However I am missing is the intended purpose of device or actually what it was meant to do . I wonder if the platform in the middle was meant to hold some sort of substance to be bombarded with electricity, or the platforms preforms another purpose?? I have been thorough the entire Cenco Scientific catalog and found nothing. Help Please! I can post more pictures or video if needed as well as more details only a small stamp on plate with number and Cenco Tag. All pictures thus far are attached.

Thank You,
SMG

Attachments

• IMAG0459.jpg
    IMAG0459.jpg
    28.2 KB · Views: 578
  • IMAG0460.jpg
    IMAG0460.jpg
    47.3 KB · Views: 554
  • IMAG0461.jpg
    IMAG0461.jpg
    40.3 KB · Views: 592
  • IMAG0454.jpg
    IMAG0454.jpg
    55.6 KB · Views: 576
  • IMAG0456.jpg
    IMAG0456.jpg
    24.5 KB · Views: 585
  • IMAG0457.jpg
    IMAG0457.jpg
    23.1 KB · Views: 600
Engineering news on Phys.org
What you have is for supporting electrodes being dipped into various solutions. Sometimes for laboratory work, sometimes for plating, sometimes for just puttering around. You might check under "cell electrode holders" or something similar, electrolysis accessories, plating fixtures, something along those lines. What you've got pictured is "upside down." The coil at the end of the two pylons is dipped into a beaker, and the bakelite sits like a nice little pot lid on the top of the beaker. The piece you've got looks like someone measuring fusing currents of copper wire in transformer oil or, some similar purpose.