Change Speed of Light: Explaining a Device in Sci-Fi Comedy

• Thread starter Trying2Learn
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, a magnetic device alters the speed of light, causing a "moment of time travel." The device is borderline technobable, but it is jargon-adjacent.
Trying2Learn
Summary:: Changing the speed of light, etc.

First: thank you everyone. You have all been a great help. I am a retired engineer trying to fill the gaps in an inferior education. Thank your for your ongoing guidance with all the questions I have asked over the years.

Now I will ask an absurd (but not stupid--I hope) question. It is not for me. It is for a friend. She is a writer and is drafting a novel that requires a science-fiction element. However! It is a comedy.

She needs about a paragraph on how to describe, as scientifically as possible, but for a lay person, the following scenario.

(One more time: this is not for me it really is for a friend and it requires the tongue to be planted firmly in the cheek -- it is a comedy, she says.)

Here goes...

"Someone creates a powerful magnetic device, intended to erase all computer memory. However, in the process, it has altered the quantum nature of light, converting it into a wave (not a critical issue), but (more importantly) altering the speed of light and enabling a moment of time travel."

It is a sincere question. She says: "Tell them to have fun with it."

She needs to "explain this device" in a way that sounds real, but hints at comedy.

Physics news on Phys.org
I only know that "we have wrent the very fabric of space-time" is a required phrase.

Likes Lren Zvsm and Trying2Learn
hutchphd said:
I only know that "we have wrent the very fabric of space-time" is a required phrase.

OK... that is good. So you are on the same wavelength, because she even told me she needs to get beyond that phrase. But thank you for the smile.

- 'Doc! What on Earth is going on?'