Civil vs Mechanical Engineering: Deciding Between Environmental Majors & Minors

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's interest in Environmental Engineering as a sophomore and their preference for sustainability and designing. They are unsure whether to major in Civil Engineering with a concentration in Environmental or Mechanical Engineering with a minor in Environmental. The speaker is concerned about job opportunities and their personal interests in structures and water resources. The expert advises that Civil/Environmental may be the best option based on the expected employment increase for civil engineers. They also mention the importance of the national balance of supply and demand for each engineering field. The expert also shares their own experience with specializing in different fields as a mechanical engineer.
giacomh
So I'm interested in Environmental Engineering. I am a sophomore, and as of now, I'm interested in green buildings and possibly water resources. But really, I enjoy all things sustainability, and I would also go as far to say that I enjoy designing anything (whether its environmental-related or not). I have only taken Statics and Mechanics 1 so far, but I really enjoyed it, particularly our design projects.

At my school, Civils can concentrate in environmental engineering, but a minor in environmental engineering is open to all majors.

Right now I'm really undecided about whether I should do Civil with a concentration in Environmental, or Mechanical with a minor in Environmental Engineering. I know I like structures a lot now, which is Civil, but I haven't really had any experience in Mechanical stuff to know.