Coherence pattern of HeNe laser in interferometer

In summary: What exactly am I looking at here? Sorry, I'm new to this and need my hand held.Look carefully through the first sodium doublet experiment with the Michelson=the first "link" of post 2. Post 7 in particular. Each separate wavelength makes a very well defined ring pattern at the receiver with 100% visibility. When two slightly different wavelengths are input in the interferometer at the same time, there will be places, (path differences), where the fringe (ring) patterns line up, and places where they don't. In addition, each of the individual wavelengths could have a finite spectral width to them, making for less than 100% visibility, as in the case
Marisa5
Hello, i hope i posted this in the correct forum!

When measuring coherence of a HeNe laser using a Michelson interferometer, there are key points along the moving interferometer arm where coherence is highest. The distance between each of these peaks corresponds with the length of the laser cavity. Based on your knowledge of gas laser fundamentals, why is this the case?

I can't find anything online to answer this question and was hoping someone here might know. Thank you for helping, it means a lot!

Science news on Phys.org