Control volume and the momentum theorem

In summary, the notes state that "Newton’s second law for a control volume of fixed mass" is valid for a fixed mass control volume, but that this equation is only valid for a control volume if the mass can vary. Furthermore, the notes stress that this equation is similar to the equation found in books on Fluid Mechanics, but that White's equation is not exactly the same.
arestes
I'm studying fluid and propulsion mechanics by myself.

I stumbled upon this website from MIT: http://web.mit.edu/16.unified/www/S...opulsion2/UnifiedPropulsion2.htm#fallingblock

It states that "Newton’s second law for a control volume of fixed mass" is $$\sum \vec{F}=\int_Vρ\frac{D}{dt}(\vec{u}_ 0+\vec{u})dV$$ but it's said that this is valid for a fixed mass control volume. $$\vec{u}_0$$ is the velocity of a reference frame attached to the control volume and $$\vec{u}$$ is the velocity of fluid relative to this moving frame.

The notes then goes on to derive this formula: $$\sum {F}_x-{F_0}_x=\int_V\frac{\partial}{\partial t}(ρ{u_x} dV+\int_S u_x(ρ \vec{u}\cdot \vec{n} dA$$
where $${F_0}_x$$ is basically $$ma_x$$.

So far so good. However, I still don't understand why this equation is only valid for a control volume with fixed mass. Moreover, we're allowing the control volume to change its mass with by having the boundary term.

This is even stressed in the quizz accompanying these notes: https://ocw.mit.edu/courses/aeronau...all-2005-spring-2006/thermo-propulsion/q6.PDF

where the solution starts by remarking the validity of this equation depending on this assumption.

This seems to contradict books on Fluid Mechanics, where the mass can vary and they reach this similar equation (or maybe it's not the same equation?). For example Frank White's book equation 3.35: