Estimating sound pressure (in an MRI scanner)

In summary: A.In summary, the problem is that the sound pressure at the source is estimated using a sound pressure measurement taken from a certain distance away, but this doesn't work because the sound pressure at the source is always estimated to be at infinite dB. The noise level within the MRI machine is determined by the mechanical mechanisms, and the machine can be run in a test mode with the magnetic field turned off for sound measurements.
lukasleopold
Hello,

excuse me if these happen to be basic questions, but I'm a psychologist/neuroscientist in training without any particular experience in physics, and I am just confronted with a very specific problem.

I need to measure the sound pressure experienced inside of an MRI scanner. Unfortunately, due to the strong magnetic field (3T) and my lack of an MRI-compatible decibel meter, I can only estimate it with sound pressure measurements taken from a certain distance.

So, how could I achieve this?

I guess that the first part of the question (ignoring the fact that it's in an MRI scanner) can be framed as "How can I estimate the sound pressure at the source of the sound from one or several measurements made at certain distances from it?".
What I have found by now is the formula for estimating changes in sound pressure using the Inverse Square Law, as described here: http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/Acoustic/isprob2.html
However, this doesn't work for my problem, because from what I gathered I will always arrive at estimations of Infinite dB at the sound source using this formula (what with dividing by zero and all). What am I doing wrong here?