Exploring Transverse Rotors for High Speed Flight in Sikorsky X2 and S-69 Concepts

In summary, the author thinks that the Advancing Blade Concept, which is used in the Sikorsky X2 and S-69 concepts, could be replaced with two transverse rotors like the V-22 Osprey. This would still work using the concept, and would allow the helicopter to travel at high speeds. There are no major problems with this idea, and it may even go faster than if the helicopter used the cyclic rotor.
kjjohn
I was thinking about the design of the Sikorsky X2 and S-69 concepts today, and I thought of an interesting idea. I am by no means an expert, but I guess you could say I know more about this subject than the average person.

So anyway, if you know about the S-69 and the new Sikorsky X2 concepts, you know that they use something called the Advancing Blade Concept. Basically, the rotor head and blades are very stiff. This is not like a hingeless rotor system, in which the blades have elastomeric bearings or flexible materials so they can flap, lead and lag. The Advancing Blade system is designed so that the blades do not flap, or more realistically, flap minimally. There are no hinges in the rotorhead, aside from the pitch feathering hinges for cyclic control. Obviously in a typical helicopter, this design would be a complete failure. With blades that can't flap, or at least not flap very much, dissymetry of lift and retreating blade stall would greatly affect it. However, The X2 ignores retreating blade stall by using coaxial rotors, one on top of the other. This means that the retreating side of one rotor is the advancing side of the other, producing even lift (theoretically) at all times. This also allows the helicopter to travel at very high speeds, and simply "offload" the retreating blades.