Finding GCD in Gaussian Integers

In summary, the problem asks to find a generator of the principal ideal <6+7i, 5+3i> in Z. It is my understanding that such a generator must be a greatest common divisor of 6+7i and 5+3i. So, let's call this guy d, we should have d(a+bi)=6+7i and d(c+di)=5+3i. I'm not really sure how to find d. If I divide 6+7i by a+bi I get \frac{(6a+7b)+(7a-6b)i}{a^2+b^2} and I don't see how this helps.
ArcanaNoir
The problem asks to find a generator of the principal ideal <6+7i, 5+3i> in Z.

It is my understanding that such a generator must be a greatest common divisor of 6+7i and 5+3i. So, let's call this guy d, we should have d(a+bi)=6+7i and d(c+di)=5+3i.

I'm not really sure how to find d. If I divide 6+7i by a+bi I get [tex] \frac{(6a+7b)+(7a-6b)i}{a^2+b^2} [/tex] and I don't see how this helps.

I'm new to Gaussian integers. Any hints on how to work with them would be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Okay I made "progress". Didn't solve it but I have more effort to offer.

I remembered the Euclidean algorithm can be used to find the gcd of two numbers.

it goes like this:
[tex] a=q_0b+r \\ b=q_1r_0+r_1 \\
r_0 = q_2r_1+r_2 [/tex]
and so on until the last non-zero remainder, which will be the gcd.

So I did this:
[tex] 6+7i=(5+3i)(1)+(1+4i) \\
5+3i=(1+4i)(1-i)+0 [/tex]
so I determined the gcd is 1+4i.
Then I wanted to check that this was actually a divisor of 6+7i, but I got a remainder >_<

So I will now be checking my calculations. Am I on the right track now?

Lol I fixed it! This has been a great help :) Sometimes just knowing you're listening gets the job done. (heart)

Last edited:
ArcanaNoir said:
The problem asks to find a generator of the principal ideal <6+7i, 5+3i> in Z.

It is my understanding that such a generator must be a greatest common divisor of 6+7i and 5+3i. So, let's call this guy d, we should have d(a+bi)=6+7i and d(c+di)=5+3i.