Finding Job Prospects with a Physics/Applied Math Degree

In summary, the individual is a sophomore at a state university majoring in Physics with a minor in Computer Science. They have recently become more motivated to consider job prospects after discovering some news. They are wondering if a physics major with an engineering minor is enough to get a job as an engineer, and also if job prospects for high school teachers in physics and math are still great. They have found conflicting information on this topic and are seeking advice. It is mentioned that a degree in engineering or computer science may be more beneficial for employment after college, and an engineering internship is recommended to gain experience and increase job prospects.
TheGeometrist
Hello all,

I am currently a sophomore enrolled at a state university, with generally good STEM education (regularly ranked top 50 in the US in engineering, cs, physics, astronomy, etc). I am a Physics major CS minor at this particular moment, mainly because I seem to particularly enjoy physics. However, since I've only taken courses through Thermo and Wave Motion in the subject, I suppose it is not really fair to say whether I love it or not yet.

To get straight to the point, I recently discovered some news that has "snapped me out" of a generally happy go lucky view on education, and greatly motivated me to consider job prospects straight out of college. Let's just say there's a proverbial bun in my lady's oven. Before anyone says not to base my major purely on job prospects, I should state that I generally like learning any topic. Even through high school and to now, I haven't taken any classes that I would consider a waste or that boring. Any learning is growth to me, and I just love the pursuit of knowledge.

Finally I think I've bored you enough with my life story to get to the question(s):