Fixing a Rusted Snowboard Edge with REDOX Reactions

In summary, the individual is seeking advice on how to reverse the rusting of their snowboard's edge, which has been stored in a room receiving sunlight. They suggest using a redox reaction and ask for recommendations on how to create it. However, it is mentioned that the rusting may have damaged the steel and simply reversing the process may not restore its properties.
ashsully

Homework Statement

Hi all,
I'm fairly new to physics forums so cut me some slack for being a noob. I've just noticed that my brand new snowboard's edge has rusted (oxidised). I live in Australia and it's been stored in my room receiving sunlight everyday. I'm guessing this probably caused the rusted edge? Anyway, I learned about Redox reactions in chemistry and I'm thinking maybe I can fix my snowboards rusted edge by creating a Redox reaction.
I can't seem to find the exact metal the edge is made out of, but most of the info I found was that it was made from a type of steel. Therefore, if we make the snowboard's edge the oxidising agent and make it undergo reduction it will receive electrons. Would this reverse the oxidising process?
If this would reverse the oxidisation, could anyone recommend how I will go about creating this redox reaction?

Thanks in advance,
Ash

Homework Equations

E0 values I'm guessing?

The Attempt at a Solution

None yet[/B]

Physics news on Phys.org
It is not the sunlight that is a culprit, but air oxygen and humidity.

Technically you are right about the corrosion being a redox process that can be reversed but it won't restore properties (shape, strength) of the steel used for the edge. You need the edge to be pretty sharp. Visit the service and ask if they can save the board, or if it has rusted beyond hope.

1. Can rust really be fixed using REDOX reactions?