Flight of a badminton shuttlecock

• Thread starter ragsubra
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Flight
In summary, this analysis discusses the influence of air temperature and humidity on the flight of a badminton shuttlecock. The author found that there were significant difference in the distance traveled.
ragsubra
I have been playing badminton for several years now. I noticed that players choose different rated speeds of shuttlecocks depending on local weather conditions. A few years back I made an analysis on the influence of effect of air temperature and humidity on the flight of a badminton shuttle cock. I deduced that there were significant difference in the distance traveled.

I invite readers to comment on the attached analysis. Would be great if you could share your personal experience when playing the game.

PS: I plan to do a similar analysis for tennis if I'm on the right track.

Cheers
Ragsubra

Attachments

• shuttlecock_trajectory.pdf
    313.6 KB · Views: 1,556
Science news on Phys.org
Things I found while I read your analysis:

• Which background do you expect for your readers? Some things are very basic - it should be obvious that gravity is pointing down, you don't have to mention it twice.
  • Try to define parameters where you first mention them:
    "A new parameter called the air resistance factor, q, is defined that
    is easy to measure and is sufficient for analysis."
    -> ok, a factor q is defined. Defined as what?
  • You reduce the problem to the density of air, before you show that this density is the only relevant parameter. I would try to do it the other way round.
  • I would stick to SI units everywhere - 30ft are about 10m
  • I am surprised by the quick approach to the terminal velocity (<1% deviation after 10m), did you check that with your numerical calculations? My guess: The mentioned 30ft are 30m.
  • "We have already seen how q can be measured fairly easily." -> how do you measure the velocity fairly easily?