Focusing of a 2D Parabolic Mirror

• Thread starter DonLumpo
  • Start date
  • Tags
    2d Mirror
In summary, the conversation discusses the focusing properties of a 2D parabolic mirror and the use of third-order aberration theory to explain these properties. The speaker also mentions the role of astigmatism and how it affects the focusing contour observed in the 2D case. They then ask for further clarification on how aberration coefficients are computed and the role of electrical engineering in the study of optics.
DonLumpo
Summary: How to explain the focusing properties of a 2D parabolic mirror based on third-order aberration theory?

Hello everyone,

I am currently studying with full-wave simulations the focusing properties of a 2D parabolic mirror, i.e. the scattered fields resulting from plane wave incidence at oblique angles.

What I observe for shallow reflectors is that the maxima of the scattered field generally lie on a curve that bends towards the reflector for increasing angles of incidence, just as the tangential focal surface shown in the attached figure.

What I learned for the 3D case (paraboloid mirror) is the following:
- As every optical system, the mirror has associated with it a sort of basic field curvature, called the Petzval curvature. When there is no astigmatism, the sagittal and tangential image surfaces coincide with each other and lie on the Petzval surface

- The sagittal focal surface from third-order Seidel aberration theory is the focal plane, and the tangential focal surface lies between the focal plane and the mirror

- As in any optical system, the tangential surface is three times as far from the Petzval surface as the sagittal surface

Now my question is, how can the focusing contour that I observe for the 2D case (obviously astigmatism is not defined in 2D) be explained with this/third-order aberration theory?

Many thanks

Last edited:
Science news on Phys.org