Get a Job w/NASA: Transfer or Mechanical BS?

In summary, the conversation discusses the options for a freshman in college who wants to become an Astronautical Engineer and work for NASA. The person is currently enrolled in a school without an Aerospace program and is considering transferring to the Air Force Academy to receive a BS in Astronautical Engineering. However, the conversation also mentions the challenges of getting a job at NASA and the difficulty of transferring to the Air Force Academy. The person may also consider getting a BS in Mechanical Engineering and then a Masters in Astronautical Engineering to increase their chances of working for NASA. A link is provided for a reality check on the likelihood of working for NASA.
Starcrossed97
Hi everyone I am currently a freshman in college planning on applying to the School of Engineering next fall. I want to be an Astronautical Engineer but my school doesn't even have Aerospace so I was planning on doing Mechanical. I would like to work for NASA as an Astronaut but I would also be happy designing Space Systems and Propulsion systems. Should I transfer to the Air Force Academy and do the rest of my undergrad there and receive my BS in Astronautical Engineering or should I stay and get my BS in Mechanical and then get a Masters in Astronautical Engineering and work for a NASA lab and try my luck applying as a NASA Civil Servant?

Physics news on Phys.org
Getting a job at NASA (and many gov't labs) is tough.

Getting into USAFA is tough too. I was on the faculty there, and I don't think they accept transfer students. You need to enter as a Freshman and do four years. It is an excellent education, and will set you up very well for a government engineering career. It may be the best possible path for aspiring astronauts and other gov't careers in aero/astro engineering.

1. How do I transfer to NASA with a Mechanical Engineering degree?