Getting a job in Google or SpaceX

In summary, the speaker is an electronics engineer from India who recently joined a startup in the electronics branch and has discovered new abilities. They are interested in working at companies such as Google and SpaceX and are seeking advice on how to get there. The advice given is to network with people at the companies, attend IEEE meetings, and highlight relevant skills in their resume.
darklord27
Hey there guys,
I'm an electronics engineer who just finished the course. I'm from India and as we Indians say, we decide what to pursue after doing an engineering degree. I have got job offers from companies such as Deloitte in their consulting division. But recently I joined a startup in the electronics branch and even though I'm not competent as required,I have discovered that I can actually do stuff which I thought was impossible while i was still in school. The best part is the fun, frustration and the happiness that comes with the job. I recently read about Google's restructuring and am pretty fascinated by their Rn D work and how they aim to bring about change in the world. And as far as SpaceX is concerned, Elon Musk is my hero and working there would be a dream come true. Any advices on how to get there?

Regards

Physics news on Phys.org
There is no golden road to get there. First, I'd scope out the companies, check their job postings, get to know anyone who works there and begin networking with them.

Sometimes engineers will present papers at the IEEE meetings and you might be able to meet them there and strike up a conversation about their paper. This could lead to someone telling you about upcoming job postings.