How do microwave plasmas work?

In summary, a plasma can be created in a waveguide by heating it up with microwave energy. The spark or ignition source is not necessary to keep the plasma going.
sw2244
I'm new to PF, I have an engineering background, but am trying to understand how microwave plasmas are generated. I'm trying to work out if a tuned microwave waveguide can create a plasma in a specific point in the waveguide say over 30 seconds as the microwave energy heats up the waveguide thus causing the plasma to occur? Or does the plasma need a spark or ignition source to start the air ionizing and then the microwave keeps it going/enhances it?

Once the plasma is going, is the spark/ignition source required to keep operating to keep the plasma going, or is the plasma self sustaining?

Just trying to understand.

Science news on Phys.org
sw2244 said:
I'm new to PF, I have an engineering background, but am trying to understand how microwave plasmas are generated. I'm trying to work out if a tuned microwave waveguide can create a plasma in a specific point in the waveguide say over 30 seconds as the microwave energy heats up the waveguide thus causing the plasma to occur? Or does the plasma need a spark or ignition source to start the air ionizing and then the microwave keeps it going/enhances it?

Once the plasma is going, is the spark/ignition source required to keep operating to keep the plasma going, or is the plasma self sustaining?

Just trying to understand.
Welcome to the PF.

Could you say more about what type of plasma application you have in mind? Here is a general Google search with various types of plasmas and generation techniques discussed:

https://www.google.com/search?q=how...enerated&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-b-1

And this hit may be closer to what you are asking about?

https://inis.iaea.org/collection/NCLCollectionStore/_Public/20/058/20058332.pdf

:smile:

berkeman said:
Welcome to the PF.