How to manage a protection unit under a power plamt

In summary, Electrical Engineer advises fresh graduate to make a plan on how to improve, fine solutions and maintain a reliable protection system in a company.
airer
As an Electrical Engineer, I am employed in a Power company. In this company, they want to create a unit for Protection which cover for both the Generation Department and the Transmission & Distribution Deparment. This is my 3rd month in the company. I was advised to make a plan on how to improve, fine solutions and maintain a reliable protection system. As I am a fresh graduate from university, I am seeking advise from you people on how to go about this project and what to do to create and maintain a successful unit.

Thanks for your input in advance.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Step 1: locate company standards, industry standards, and any recent papers about those standards, and READ THEM.

Step 2: Discuss these with your mentor. If you don't have a mentor, find one.

Step 3: Discuss requirements with Generation and T&D department stakeholders.

Step 4: Design. (make estimates, talk to vendors, etc.)I know, this is pedantic, but you need to start from the bottom and work your way up.

Thank you very much.
-Should I find a mentor in the company here or anywhere else?
-Which requirements should I discuss with them?
-Do you have any vendors in mind for this? Is Siemens good?

Look within your own company first. You have leadership of some sort. Ask them who to use as a resource.

Second, the requirements are something you need to wrap your head around very very carefully. There are issues such as phase imbalance protection, overcurrent protection, over-voltage protection, ground fault protection, and so on.

Third, any vendor can sell you garbage and almost any vendor can sell you an adequate product. Giving a conglomerate such as Siemens, or GE, or Westinghouse, or Square D, or ... a "good" rating is not really helpful.