Hydrocarbon enthelpy profiles

• Thread starter berndogger26
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Hydrocarbon
In summary: for your question, but i am not currently using this forum and am not familiar with any experiments involving alternative fuels. i hope that you find the information you are looking for elsewhere.
berndogger26
Hi i am a IB student currently working on my extended essay in the field of chemistry and was wondering if anyone could suggest where i could find the enthalpy profiles for specific hydrocarbons including standard enthalpy changes for fuels such as: petroleum, diesel, ethanol, methanol, bio-diesel and any other fuels that i might be able to find literature values for.

the premis of the experiment is to examine how the fuel to air mixtures affect the power of the combustions and which fuels have the most violent explosions. What i need the the enthalpy profiles for is to examine the bi-products of combusting these fuels.

If i could get any suggestions it would be much appreciated because the only values i have currently are those recorded by other students and i would like my sources to have less error in them in order to compare my results to accurate literature vales.

any help would be much appreciated,
cheers

Physics news on Phys.org
Here is an excellent government reference that should get you started

http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry.html

search by name and click on thermochemistry data links.As for the fuels like gasoline and diesel I was lazy and used wiki

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heat_of_combustion

I'm not sure how reliable the sources are for the enthalpies of combustion for the fuels, but you can look up the source and determine for yourself.

Last edited by a moderator:
thanks for the help