Introductory Book on Differential Geometry

In summary, the author of this book recommends an introductory book for differential geometry, but warns that it is old-fashioned and requires more mathematical prerequisites than most physics students have.
fys iks!
Hey,

I was wondering if anyone could recommend an introductory book for differential geometry. I am studying general relativity and need some help with this topic.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
"Applied Differential Geometry" by William Burke

"Introduction to smooth manifolds", and "Riemannian manifolds: an introduction to curvature" by John M. Lee. These books are great. The only problem is that you need both of them. Everything about connections, geodesics, covariant derivative and curvature is in the second book. It don't think there can be a better place to read about those things than this book.

I like Isham's book too. I think he covers some concepts, in particular the tangent space, even better than Lee. But it's not really an introduction to the differential geometry you need to understand GR. It's an introduction to the differential geometry you need to understand Yang-Mills theory. So he talks a lot about Lie groups and fiber bundles, which you don't need right now, and doesn't say much about geodesics and curvature.

Thanks for the suggestions!

Isham's book was a little to advanced. I was able to find one though to suit my needs. It doesn't look like it is too popular but its called "Introduction To Differential Geometry and Reimannian Geometry By: Erwin Kreyszig"

fys iks! said:
Isham's book was a little to advanced.
I very much doubt that, but as I said, it's going in the wrong direction for you. It's preparing the reader for Yang-Mills theory, not GR.

fys iks! said:
I was able to find one though to suit my needs. It doesn't look like it is too popular but its called "Introduction To Differential Geometry and Reimannian Geometry By: Erwin Kreyszig"