Length of sides of right triangle with 1 angle and 1 side

In summary, a high school student is seeking help in finding the length of DC in a 30-60-90 triangle with a height of 6. They are unsure of how to proceed due to the lack of information and varying lengths of BC. However, it is mentioned that more information, such as AD = AC, would be needed to solve the problem.
Dophs
Hello so I'm a high school student and I came up with this question and I wanted to know if this was possible to do?

View attachment 8044

So I tried to research and find a way to find the length of DC and I couldn't find anything, so I am here to ask for help, is this possible? I figured it would go in the trigonometry section, if not please tell me what sub-forum is belongs in.

So obviously I know the left, right triangle is a 30,60,90 and the height of the right, right triangle is 6 and obviously it has a 90 degree angle. I couldn't think of anyway to get any further due to the not drawn to scale part due to . BC could be 100, 4, 67, 21, so the angles would change of that triangle, but 6 is the height of both.

Attachments

• Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    9.5 KB · Views: 73
Mathematics news on Phys.org
Dophs said:
Hello so I'm a high school student and I came up with this question and I wanted to know if this was possible to do?
So I tried to research and find a way to find the length of DC and I couldn't find anything, so I am here to ask for help, is this possible? I figured it would go in the trigonometry section, if not please tell me what sub-forum is belongs in.

So obviously I know the left, right triangle is a 30,60,90 and the height of the right, right triangle is 6 and obviously it has a 90 degree angle. I couldn't think of anyway to get any further due to the not drawn to scale part due to . BC could be 100, 4, 67, 21, so the angles would change of that triangle, but 6 is the height of both.