Measurement of heat as an interval measurement or a ratio measurement

jonohashmo543
TL;DR Summary
determining if a measurement of heat is absolute or arbitrary.
Hello!

I am new to this forum and I'm not even sure if this is the right place to ask but here goes:

I am studying Research Methods. I got to the part where the teacher is teaching us about levels of measurement. They said that there are a few levels but the two that are significant to my question are Interval and Ratio.

Interval: As my teacher explained, shoe size measurement is an example of an interval measurement. If someone has a shoe size of 0, we do not think that their feet have 0 length. Similarly, if someone has a shoe size of 4, we do not think that someone with a shoe size of 8 has feet that are literally two times the length of the person with size 4 shoes.

Ratio: A ratio measurement is like the metric system. We know that 0 literally means 0, and that 8cm is literally twice as long as 4cm.

Then the teacher gave Temperature as an example for Interval measurement. That confused me greatly. If we look at Fahrenheit for example, does 0 F have any significance? Is it absolute? Similarly, can we say that 60 F is literally "twice as hot" as 30 F? What if the same questions were asked in Celsius? Or Kelvin?

Basically, I'm wondering if there is an agreed upon absolute measurement for heat, (like metric system in shoe size example) and scales like Fahrenheit Celsius and Kelvin are just plopped on top of that absolute measurement with increments of their own?

Sorry if this is irrelevant to this forum, I just don't really know where to ask this question.

Thanks!
Jonathan

Science news on Phys.org
There are temperature scales where zero is "really zero." These are called "absolute temperature scales." The Rankine and Kelvin scales are "absolute."

I'm sure the wiki page on the Fahrenheit scale explains the significance of zero degrees F.