PDE or differentiable manifolds?

In summary: Differentiable manifolds sounds like a really interesting subject, would you recommend it to somebody who is doing a math masters ?? (Assuming that they are not familiar with these concepts)Differentiable manifolds sounds like a really interesting subject, would you recommend it to somebody who is doing a math masters ??Depends on what somebody is looking for, if somebody just wants to know about the subject and doesn't want to get into too much details then I would say go for it, if somebody is looking for a deeper understanding then I would say differential geometry or linear algebra are better courses.
mathmari
Gold Member
MHB
Hello! :eek:

I am doing my master in the field Mathematics in Computer Science. I am having a dilemma whether to take the subject Partial differential equations- Theory of weak solutions or the subject differentiable manifolds.

Could you give me some information about these subjects?? (Wondering)

What knowledge is required?? (Wondering)

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi mathmari,

I don't really know what you could do in PDE's but I had a course called "differentiable manifolds" also, at that course I was supposed to have two linear algebra courses, two differential calculus course, two integral calculus courses, introduction to ODE's, introduction to PDE's, topology, curves and surfaces geometry and a course called "Global theory of surfaces".

In fact I don't remember too much about that course but I remember it was really interesting. I was taught about "inmersions and submersions" (direct translation from Spanish ), bundles, integral curves, local flows, lies derivatives , Frobenius theorem (do not confound with Rouche-Frobenius) and this kind of things.

As always it will depend on who, what and how your professor explain but in my case I remember it was a hard course. (Which is obviously good :p)

Fallen Angel said: