Ph.D and a career in teaching Community College

In summary: You would need a PhD in engineering, or a degree from an accredited college or university with a major in engineering. A Master's degree in mathematics, physics, computer science, chemistry, or geology from an accredited college or university is also acceptable.
rm446
So if I wanted to change my career from professional engineer to community college teacher, would a Ph.D in engineering be helpful or over qualify me?

I have a bachelor's in Mechanical Engineering, a M.S. in ME with emphasis on controls and dynamics, and about 2 years of professional experience so far. Also I'd be looking to get into a community college in my home state of California.

Thanks for the advice : D

Physics news on Phys.org
CA requires a master's or higher in either the discipline or a closely related field. Numerous community colleges have pre-engineering programs (well, at least Santa Monica did when I was there), but you could probably also teach physics or math. There are many PhDs who teach at a community college (and your industry experience will probably be an advantage).

You'll pretty much need a phd to teach full-time at a community college. You minimally need a masters, but many applicants for full time positions will have phds, so it will be hard to compete without one.

Where I live in Southern California, however, the trend has been to replace full time faculty with lots of adjuncts, and it will be really hard to make a living by cobbling together various adjunct positions (its between $2k and $3k per class, no benefits, and most schools only have one or two classes they need you to teach). Most of the adjuncts (like myself) work full time jobs and teach at the community college on the side every now and then. I have met people who make their whole living adjuncting, but they spend a ton of time commuting between various community colleges,and frankly it seems like a pretty meager existence.