Possible # alleles at locus of 3 base-pairs (diploid)?

In summary, a locus is a spot on a chromosome where a gene is located. There are 64 possible alleles at a locus, each consisting of four possible base-pairs.
Lo.Lee.Ta.
How many possible alleles are at a locus consisting of 3 base-pairs in a diploid?

ugh, I am so confused...
So, I guess a locus is just a spot for a gene, so the gene is also considered to consist of 3 bases.
Gene: _ _ _
Each "_" could be either an A,T,C, or G.
So there are 4 possibilities per "_"
So, there are 4 x 4 x 4 = 64 different possible alleles of a gene on one chromosome...?
Since there are 2 chromosomes in a diploid organism, there are 64 x 2 = 128 different possible alleles at a locus...? :(

ugh, I am sure I am WAY off...
Please help me, somebody! )':

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Lo.Lee.Ta:

I am not an expert, but I think I can offer some help you can use to search for more information.

Lo.Lee.Ta. said:
So, I guess a locus is just a spot for a gene
The usage of "locus" I know is, with respect to the start of a chromosome, the sequence number of (1) a single base or (2) a triplet. There may be other definitions that I don't know. For your example, I think it refers to (2) the triplet.

The usage of "allele" that I know refers to (1) the particular sequence of bases in a (a) triplet or (b) gene, or (2) (a) to what the triplet codes for (amino acid, start, stop, etc.) or (b) the effect (phenotype) of the whole gene as it might change with different bases. That is, if two different triplets are codes for the same thing, the second usage would call them the same allele. There may be other definitions that I don't know. I am guessing that for your example, the first meaning (1a) is the one you want to use.

My guess is that your calculation of 64 is correct. Counting the possibilities on both strands doesn't make sense because all of those bases in the second strand are constrained by what is in the first strand.

Hope this helps.