Pressure drop in fuel assemblies

In summary, Pressure drop across fuel rods in a pressurized water reactor can be calculated using Friction factor, Pressure drop in steam generator, and P/D ratio. The p/D ratio is important in determining allowable pressure drops for a steam generator.
sehrish shakir
Hello!
I am studying the mentioned topic I am confused in calculating the average value of friction factor in sub channels ... please help ??
thank you in advance

Engineering news on Phys.org
thank you!

can you provide me the link from where i can get the MIT exam paper to solve .. for these topics

third link is not working ...

Link working here ok .

If still not working on your computer then paste the whole link into Google . Usually works with problematic links .

again not working
time out error is displayed on screen

You must have a local problem since all links are working ok for me in UK .

What country are you in ?

I am from Pakistan

oh ok !
and its ok thank you for your kind support
best regards!

Hi, you wrote about pressure drop in fuel assemblies. But you have to specify, whether you mean pressurized water reactors (single phase flow) or boiling water reactors (two-phase flow).

In general, total fuel assembly pressure drop is formed by fuel bundle frictional drop (dependent on relative roughness of fuel rods, reynolds number, hydraulic diameter etc.) and other pressure drops of structural elements (top and bottom nozzle, spacing grids or mixing grids).

In general, it is not so simple to calculate pressure drops in fuel assemblies (especially the spacing grids) and it belongs to key know-how of certain fuel manufacturer. Mostly, pressure drops are measured in experimental hydraulic loops, rather than calculated.

If you want to know more, specify your problem. Here are some valuable sources:

Frictional losses - single phase
Pressure drop - two-phase

Likes sehrish shakir
Michal Kovac said: