Question about weights using Chebyshev polynomials as quadrature

In summary, the article Differentiates between the case of odd and even number of collocation points. If N is even, then the N+1 collocation points, including 0, form a vector of odd length. The weights are calculated as ws=wN-s=... for s=1, 2, ..., N/2. Meanwhile, w0 and wN are calculated on a different way. This in turn means that one of the elements is calculated twice, as shown in the following example: N=6; N+1=7; N/2=3; s=1, 2, 3; N-s=6-1=5, 6-2=4, 6-3=3
confused_engineer
Hello everyone.

I am studying this article since I am interested in optimization. The article makes use of Clenshaw–Curtis quadrature scheme to discretize the integral part of the cost function to a finite sum using Chebyshev polynomials.

The article differentiates between the case of odd and even number of collocation points. In equation 27 and 28 (fourth page), the case of N even is discussed. If N is even, then the N+1 collocation points, including 0, form a vector of odd length.

Then weights are calculated as ws=wN-s=... for s=1, 2, ..., N/2. Meanwhile, w0 and wN are calculated on a different way.

This in turn means that one of the elements is calculated twice, as shown in the following example:

N=6; N+1=7; N/2=3; s=1, 2, 3; N-s=6-1=5, 6-2=4, 6-3=3.

As you can see, the fourth element of the vector, number 3, appears two times. I find this weird. Can someone please tell me if I am understanding the article wrong or if this is intended to happen?

Thanks for reading.
Regards.

Physics news on Phys.org
I do not see where the problem is. For ##N=6## we have ##w_0=w_6=1/35## and then formulas for ##w_1=w_5##, ##w_2=w_4##, and ##w_3##. Since ##s=3= N-s=6-3## and the formula for ##w_3## only depends on the given number ##N## and ##s=3##, where is it defined twice?

Likes confused_engineer
fresh_42 said: