Send telemetry from an RC airplane 2 miles up

In summary, the engineer is suggesting that the best way to complete this project is to get a ham license and build your own transmitter and receiver. Additionally, he recommends integrating altitude and temperature sensors with the transmitter in one board.
PauloE
Send telemetry from an RC airplane from 2 miles up

here is what I am trying to do.
I got a Nerdkit to learn the basics of electronics(I'm not an engineer, just starting) and I need a project to develop and since I'm passionate about airplanes and remote data sending(?) I want to tackle this that sounds like going to the moon to me to learn about this intimidating field.

So I could do it in different stages until I get to the final objective. The airplane should be piloted through the laptop and the telemetry should appear in the laptop to. Sounds cool and hard! which is a good signal if I want to learn.

I want to build every component from scratch (as much as possible) but also considering that my plane cannot carry more than 300g in components (battery and tx not included).

The telemetry I want to send back is: Altitude, temperature, as the main ones and GPS data would be awesome but not necessary for now.

where should I start?

Also if some of you live in DC, VA or MD and wants to work with me you are very welcome.

I promise I'll make a video with all of it.

THANKS!

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
You will need to find altitude and temperature sensors and a microcontroller board that can read them. You may have to build inferface circuits to put the outputs of the sensors in the range the microcontroller can read. I believe there are also GPS modules that microcontrollers can read.

Then there's the transmitter. Your best and probably cheapest way of transmitting the data is to get a ham license and build your own transmitter and receiver.

All of this plus battery will be difficult to keep under 300 g.