Speed and pressure relative to a piston (fluids)

In summary, the correct answer to the question is B: decreasing the speed of the water will increase its pressure and therefore the force applied to the piston. However, the question itself is flawed as the speed of the water will not have a significant effect on the pressure at the piston due to the conversion of kinetic energy into work. The correct answer would actually be A: releasing the water at a faster speed will result in a greater force being applied to the piston.
Mike Dacre
I am studying for the MCAT and I got an interesting question from a Kaplan book:

15. A water tower operator is interested in increasing the pressure of a column of water that is applied to a piston. She hopes that increasing the pressure will increase the force being applied to the piston. The only way to increase the pressure is to alter the speed of the water as it flows through the pipe to the piston. How should the speed of the water be changed to increase the pressure and force?

• A. Increase the speed
  • B. Decrease the speed
  • C. Release water intermittently against the pipe
  • D. The speed of water will not change pressure at the piston.
Correct Answer: B

Explanation:

This is a basic interpretation of Bernoulli's equation that states, at equal heights, speed and pressure of a fluid are inversely related (the Venturi effect). Decreasing the speed of the water will therefore increase its pressure. An increase in pressure over a given area will result in increased force being transmitted to the piston.​

This one is interesting to me, because I was sure the answer they wanted was B, because MCAT examiners and book writers love the relationship between velocity and pressure. I am very aware of the inverse relationship between speed and pressure in fluids.